Family is one the most important institutions in our day-to-day lives. This is why there are so many laws in place to help protect the institution of family. Whether you’re considering a divorce, you need to work out a custody plan for your child, or your spouse is claiming that you need to pay spousal or child support, it’s crucial to approach your case with an understanding of the laws that can affect you and your family long-term. That’s where I come in.
Understand Your State’s Divorce Laws
No one enjoys the process of going through a divorce — but sometimes, it’s absolutely the right call for your family. In Louisiana and Texas, there are a few key laws you should be aware of as you begin the first steps of your divorce:
Filing for Divorce in Louisiana
- You can file for divorce if you’ve lived in Louisiana for at least one year.
- Louisiana allows covenant marriages, which requires couples to attend premarital counseling before getting married and to attend marital counseling before filing for a divorce.
- Unless you’re filing for divorce on the grounds of adultery or a felony, you and your spouse must live separately for 180 days (or 365 days if you have children under the age of 18).