Family is one of the most important institutions in our day-to-day lives. This is why there are so many laws in place to help protect the institution of the family. Whether you’re considering a divorce, you need to work out a custody plan for your child, or your spouse is claiming that you need to pay spousal or child support, it’s crucial to approach your case with an understanding of the laws that can affect you and your family long-term. That’s where I come in.
Understanding Louisiana’s Divorce Laws
No one enjoys the process of going through a divorce — but sometimes, it’s absolutely the right call for your family. In Louisiana, there are a few key laws you should be aware of as you begin the first steps of your divorce:
- You can file for divorce if you’ve lived in Louisiana for at least one year.
- Louisiana allows covenant marriages, which require couples to attend premarital counseling before getting married and to attend marital counseling before filing for a divorce.
- Unless you’re filing for divorce on the grounds of adultery or a felony, you and your spouse must live separately for 180 days (or 365 days if you have children under the age of 18).
If you would like a consultation with Mr. Dunlap about your divorce case, please click on this link and fill out our intake form. After you have completed the form, Mr. Dunlap will contact you to schedule a telephone or video conference to discuss your case.